29
Aug
10

Evaluation of Final Project and Process

Evaluation of The Project

My final project is a web gallery containing photographic images they are a series called Impressions. A lot of my project looks at the research I have done to gain inspiration for this project. What I have learnt from it is that I am not a practitioner, I am far more interested in the research it takes to make a project. I am facinated by modern artists and documentaries. In doing this project I have experimented with something new for me, something that I was not entierly comfortable with, self nudity. I decided to do this as I wanted to do something unusual in a degree project. For me the project brought up a lot of questions about why I was uncomfortable with the idea of having nud photos of me or anyone else.  I tried to express these feeling through the use of a prolouge which is on the website to accompany the web gallery. I have linked in my 300MC research with my project as it was a strong reason as to why my project developed the way it did.

The photography is very interesting I have tried to use different techniques with the photography to allow each image to stand alone by itself but also to accompnay each other within a series. I have tired to accomplish this by using both monocrome and colour images. I have also used different light techniques to highlight particular elements of certain photographs. Looking back at the photographs now when evaluating them it might have been better if I had created two series of work, one which was all colour and one which was in monocrome. Orginally I felt shooting in monocrome added a softer touch to the images. I wanted to add a softer side to the images because I have been influenced by Ann Geddes work, she creates commerical work creativly staging peoples children in many different senarios from big stages fluffy bunny outfits to the pure and simple image of a small newborn skin to skin in it mother hands or on her back.

My orginal project has developed from a project looking at a range of people scars, photographing and documenting there stories, to looking specifically at scars realting to pregancy and birth to what I have ended up making which is a collection of images of a familys impressions of pysical and emotional changes including pysical scars. I foudn it hard to define what I actually wanted to do so changed the project as I researched more into the artists who inspired me and also found new artists who gave me further inspiration.

My documentation of this project has been jumpy and I will admit I have filled in some missing gaps in the last month or two but I have come from feeling like I was not going to compleet this project to being able to complete it. During this final year I have delt with a child who is under one in hospital, I have been admitted myself, I have been pregnat and given birth to a daughter 6 weeks early. I have also had to go back to work due to financiual reasons before completeing this project and have had to still raise my children whilst completing my degree. I am not trying to make exscuses but I do not want it to be forgotten as if you were a mother in my position who what would you put first, your family through all the above mentioned or your degree?

To make the webgallery I used a programme called Webplus 10 it is a San Serif programme and allows you to deesign webpages in a simlar wasy to dreamweaver. I foudn the programme to be hard to use even after going through hours of tutorials but I stayed with using the programme as I purchased it for home use so wanted to get the most out of it that I could. The main issue I had was that I was unable to figure out how to change the size of the website once I had added all the content as when viewed on certain web brousers it would not display all the text. I had to draw a line under it as I did not have time to finish it and submit my work factoring my work schedule. I ahve added screen shots at the bottom of this page to illistrate what I actually wanted it to look like so you can.

If I could do it all again I would use my family as inspiration from the very begining, I would spend more time trying to figure out the mothod of delivery for the project and would do more test runs of making it work. I might also chose the book method in displaying my work. The book method is something I thought about but I ultimatly wanted something more personal and obtainable. A website allows people to log on and be inspired and interested.

Web blog snap shot images of the web pages in the programme I used to produce them, Web Plus 10.

This is the Index page for the site, It was designed to welcome the person entering the site.

This is the Prologue Page, it was meant to be on the site for the viewers of the site to read and get a feel for the meaning of the site, it incorporates my personal feeling and media theory.

This is the gallery page. The gallery is designed so that the images can be looked through at the pace fo the individuasl viewing it. The advantage of having a web blog is that looking towards the future people may be using electronic portable reading devices simlar to the new Ipad but more affordable.

0 Responses to “Evaluation of Final Project and Process”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Delicious

Blog Archives

Twitter

  • Comments on my current blog posts would be brillaint as I'd love some feed back and feel seriously lacking in it!! 7 years ago
  • Navigating Worpress, advice greatfully recieved! 7 years ago
  • Wondering if Cubism has been used in installations not just paintings? 8 years ago
  • I am looking for the plus size model Charlotte Coyle wondering if she is out there? 8 years ago

Flickr Photos


